Press Release: “Monster Elementary and the Egyptian Curse!” Wins a Bronze Medal in the 2017 Indepen


April 12, 2017

Los Angeles, CA (April 12, 2017) – Two years after Monster Elementary won the Independent Publisher Book Awards 2015 Gold Medal for best “Graphic Novel/Drawn Book – Humor/Cartoon History (U.S.),” Monster Elementary and the Egyptian Curse!, the second volume in the burgeoning Monster Elementary series, has won the Independent Publisher Book Awards 2017 Bronze Medal for best “Graphic Novel/Drawn Book – Humor/Cartoon.”

Launched in 1996 and conducted each year to honor the year's best independently published books, the "IPPY" Awards recognize merit in a broad range of subjects and reward authors and publishers who "take chances and break new ground."

The medal-winning books will be celebrated on May 30th on the eve of the annual BookExpo America publishing convention in New York, with gold, silver and bronze IPPY medallions awarded in 83 national, 24 regional, and ten e-book categories.

“I am thrilled to have received medals from the Independent Publisher Book Awards for both books in the Monster Elementary series,” says writer/creator Nicholas Doan. “It was humbling to win the gold medal the first time and I am honored to have the consistent quality of our team’s work validated with this second recognition. I work with some of the greatest independent artists and this award is proof of their immense talent.”

Of the national award categories, two are reserved for “Graphic Novels/Drawn Books,” one in humor/cartoon and one in drama/documentary.

Graphic Novel/Drawn Book – Humor/Cartoon

  • GOLD: Gwan Anthology, by Jerome Walford (Forward Comix)

  • SILVER: The Parish: An AmeriCorps Story, by Joel Smith and Ryan Winet (Beating Windward Press)

  • BRONZE (tie): Untold Tales of Bigfoot: Crossing Paths, by Vince Dorse (Long Lost Friend Studio), Monster Elementary and the Egyptian Curse!, by Nicholas Doan and Various Artists (Space Goat Publishing)

Graphic Novel/Drawn Book – Drama/Documentary

  • GOLD: Chyrsalides, Oh Hell: Volume 1, by G. Wassil, Dave Hamann and Michael Birkhofer (Oh Hell Comics)

  • SILVER: Karski’s Mission: To Stop the Holocaust, by Rafael Medoff and Dean Motter (Jan Karski Educational Foundation)

  • BRONZE: Tir Na Fuil Volume 1: A Hard Rain’s Gonna Fall, by Brian W. Donnelly (Mythographer’s Workshop)

Written and created by Nicholas Doan and edited by Gwendolyn Dreyer, Monster Elementary and the Egyptian Curse! picks up right where we left our five young monsters. No, the FBI hasn't reopened their exclusive monsters-only private school. Yes, our five monsters are still trying to fit in among the "normals" at Kinghaven Elementary, a human public school. In addition to navigating the daily horrors of Kinghaven, the gang solves mysteries in a ghost town, fends off a home invasion from a snooping classmate and in the titular story, travels to the Egyptian desert on an epic quest to finally find Rags’ parents.

The Monster Elementary graphic novel series is a fun, witty, comedy/adventure for children of all ages written by Nicholas Doan featuring five monster children inspired by classic monster movie archetypes: Desmodus, a vampire; Lukos, a werewolf; Francesca, a Frankenstein monster; Rags, a mummy; and Gilda, a lagoon monster. These five monster children are forced to attend a human public school after their monsters-only private school is raided by the FBI. To their surprise, they're not allowed to eat any of the other students. The monsters’ adventures and experiences hiding their identities and growing up are the focal point of the book.

Monster Elementary and the Egyptian Curse!, like its predecessor, is a series of short stories, all written by Doan and illustrated by a team of rotating artists including Cal Moray, Lee-Roy Lahey, Bobby Timony, Christopher Tupa, Patty Variboa, Patrick Ian Moss, Jimena Sanchez, Daniele Serra, and Josh Gowdy.

Monster Elementary and the Egyptian Curse! is priced at $22.99 and is available for purchase at where there is a preview, and

For press images, go to

For the full list of 2017 Independent Publisher Book Awards winners, go to


Nicholas Doan is the Co-Creator and Writer of the award-winning, all-ages, comedy/adventure graphic novel series, Monster Elementary, and the author of three children’s books for Fat Rabbit Farm. He was the first ever user-submitted contest winner for DC/Zuda Comics along with artist Daniele Serra for their webcomic, “Pray for Death.” Nicholas has also collaborated with artist Josh Gowdy for their short comic, “Lost Boy,” in the Drawmore Inc. anthology, NOBODIES, Vol. 2. In addition, Nicholas is an accomplished playwright and card carrying member of the Dramatists Guild.


Each year since 1996, the Independent Publisher Book Awards competition has identified a reading list of progressive, thought-provoking books, the kind that can touch lives, advance careers, and stretch our imaginations. With the tag line, "Recognizing Excellence in Independent Publishing," the IPPY Awards showcase the best books from throughout North America and the English-speaking world. Launched as the first unaffiliated awards program open exclusively to independent, university, and self-published titles, the awards are presented each spring at a gala ceremony during the BookExpo America convention in New York. The IPPY Awards are presented by publishing services firm Jenkins Group of Traverse City, Michigan and, "the online voice of independent publishing."


# # #

#pressrelease #IndependentPublisherBookAwards #award

Posts are coming soon
Stay tuned...
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon